2008 IEEE Fellows Recipients

Pao-Choo (Julia) Chung

For contributions to neural network models for biomedical image analyses.

Rui Paulo da Silva Martins

For leadership in engineering education.

Ling Guan

For contributions to image and multimedia signal processing.

Morris (Ming-Dou) Ker

For contributions to electrostatic protection in integrated circuits, and performance optimization of VLSI micro-systems.

Nam Ling

For contributions to video coding algorithms and architectures.

Levent Onural

For contributions to signal processing for optics, diffraction and holography.

Fernando Pereira

For contributions to object-based digital video representation technologies and standards.

Markku Kalevi Renfor

For contributions to digital signal processing algorithms.

Yvon Savaria

For contributions to the development of long interconnect VLSI signal processing architectures.

Jyuo-Min Shyu

For leadership in the microelectronics industry.

Sergios Theodoridis

For contributions to the design of adaptive signal processing systems.

Jacob White

For contributions to simulation tools for RF circuits, electrical interconnects, and micro machined devices.

Ja-Ling Wu

For contributions to image and video analysis, coding, digital watermarking, and rights management.



IEEE Circuits and Systems Society 2008 Awards Ceremony

2008 IEEE International Symposium on Circuits and Systems



IEEE Circuits and Systems Society 2008 Awards

Maciej Ogorzalek, CASS President Ljiljana Trajkovic, CASS Past-President & Awards Chair

Winners of 2008 CASS Awards and newly honored IEEE Fellows are:

IEEE Gustav Robert Kirchhoff Award Alfred Fettweis

For sustained contributions to circuits, systems, and signal processing, especially his seminal work on wave digital filters.

2008 IEEE Circuits and Systems Society Mac Van Valkenburg Award

Jan M. Rabaey

For seminal contributions to the fields of VLSI implementation of signal processing and communication algorithms, design methodologies and computer-aided design tools, configurable computing, and low-power digital and RF circuit and system design. For dedication to undergraduate and graduate education.

2008 IEEE Circuits and Systems Society Education Award

Josef A. Nossek

For pioneering and outstanding contributions to circuits and systems education, especially in the areas of circuit theory and signal processing and the interrelation of both. For significant leadership role in introducing the dual-cycle Bachelor-Master education system in engineering and its integration with the single-cycle European Diploma degree program.

2008 IEEE Circuits and Systems Society Technical Achievement Award

Edgar Sánchez-Sinencio

For continuous outstanding technical contributions for nearly three and half decades to analog and mixed signal integrated circuits, computer-aided circuit design, neural network implementations, continuous-time filters and RF transceivers, emphasizing theoretical and practical aspects ranging from analog circuit fundamentals to applied areas such as built-in testing circuits and ultra wide band receivers. For sustained leadership efforts in developing a research group, promoting circuits and systems through text books, research publications, and numerous CAS Society technical and BoG committees/editorial/conference activities.

2008 IEEE Circuits and Systems Society Outstanding Young Author Award

Fei Su

For the paper entitled, "Defect Tolerance Based on Graceful Degradation and Dynamic Reconfiguration for Digital Microfluidics-Based Biochips," *IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design of Integrated Circuits and Systems*, vol. 25, no. 12, pp. 2944-2953, December 2006 (with Krishnendu Chakrabarty).

2008 IEEE Circuits and Systems Society Transactions on Circuits and Systems Guillemin-Cauer Best Paper Award Yannis Tsividis

For the paper entitled, "Mixed-Domain Systems and Signal Processing Based on Input Decomposition," *IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems I: Regular Papers*, vol. 53, no. 10, pp. 2145-2156, October 2006.

2008 IEEE Circuits and Systems Society Transactions on Circuits and Systems Darlington Best Paper Award

Andrea Panigada and Ian Galton

For the paper entitled, "Digital Background Correction of Harmonic Distortion in Pipelined ADCs," *IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems I: Regular Papers*, vol. 53, no. 9, pp. 1885-1895, September 2006.

2008 IEEE Circuits and Systems Society CSVT Transactions Best Paper Award Homer H. Chen, Chia-Kai Liang, Yu-Chun Peng, and Hung-An Chang

For the paper entitled, "Integration of Digital Stabilizer with Video Codec for Digital Video Cameras," *IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems for Video Technology*, vol. 17, no. 7, pp. 801-813, July 2007.

2008 IEEE Circuits and Systems Society Chapter of the Year Award

IEEE Circuits and Systems Society Singapore Chapter Zhiping Lin, Chapter Chair

2008 IEEE Circuits and Systems Society
Regions 1-7 Chapter of the Year Award
IEEE Circuits and Systems Society Dallas Chapter
Liming Xiu, Chapter Chair

2008 IEEE Circuits and Systems Society
Region 9 Chapter of the Year Award
IEEE Circuits and Systems Society Colombia Chapter
Antonio Garcia Rozo, Chapter Chair

2008 IEEE Circuits and Systems Society
Region 10 Chapter of the Year Award
IEEE Circuits and Systems Society Shikoku Chapter
Akio Ushida, Chapter Chair